• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker [SOLVED] GML Coding Best Practices - Building Cutscenes with Paths & Timers

TheJoe

Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting but I've been working with GML & Gamemaker for about a year and a half now. For a little background I'm a total hobbyist, no coding experience other than some batch files in DOS when I was way young, and just make games for my friends (this one is for a wedding present for my friends who are REALLY into their dog).

For some reason I've always had a really hard time making cutscenes and I'd love if I could get a second pair of eyes on a bit of code I wrote for one. While I'm really excited for Sequences, I need to finish this wedding present before I'll have access, and so lo and behold I finally stumble upon Paths as a potentially great solution. I'm wondering to myself why nobody has any tutorials out there on them or why they're not mentioned much in the forums or tutorials, but now after been banging my head against my desk trying to get them to do what I want, I think I might get why (ex. I first tried this with a switch statement for path_position and that led me down a dark nightmarish hellscape hole, and why isn't it easier to fire events at a point in the path?).

Sorry for the long preamble! Here's the working code and my question is, is there a better way to achieve this? Small scene where a dog walks into view, does some doggy stuff.

GML:
timer++;

//Dog turns around to wait, barks
if timer >= 120
{
    image_xscale = 1;
    sprite_index = s_dog_bark;
    path_speed = 0;
}

//Dog sits down and pants
if timer >= 240
{
    sprite_index = s_dog_sit_pant;
}

//Dog turns around and walks away