• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

[SOLVED] game_restart() not triggering the first time

C

Carcophan

Hello everyone.

My code, below, seems to be triggering two message boxes, and 'ignoring' the game_restart() code. I am still learning the finer details, but what am I doing wrong here??

I am experiencing TWO message boxes, a '1' and a '4' for example. Sees like '4' should never trigger if '1' was first triggered. Is there a speed/timing issue or something? I also don't understand how a collision can occur twice in general, let alone how the restart is skipped.

Psudo code:
Code:
x += x_speed_;
if(x_speed_ > 0) {  //collision right side

if(cx = 17){
            show_message("1");   
            game_restart();  //not triggering, before '4' is triggered
        } else {
      //other code
            }       
        }
} else if x_speed_ < 0 {  //collision left

if(cx = 17){
        show_message("2");   
        game_restart();
    } else {
       //other code
        }
    }
}

y += y_speed_;
if y_speed_ > 0 {

if(cx = 17){
        show_message("3");   
        game_restart();
    } else {
     //other code
    }
} else {

if(cx = 17){
        show_message("4");   
        game_restart();
    } else {
        //other code
    }
}

samspade

game_restart is only going to trigger if cx == 17. I don't see any code that says where cx is set.

While I don't see it in the manual it is also possible that game_restart doesn't trigger until the end of the event/script that it is running in. So in this case you would get two debug messages. A simple test of this second option would be to add exit after game restart. So every place game_restart occurs should look like this: