• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM [SOLVED]Ds_List: adding /deleting random items in a ds list

N

nicoltoons

Hello, I'm relatively new to ds_ lists.

Question: How do I randomly add or delete items from a ds list?

If you have 3 deleted items from a ds_list, how do you randomly add one of them back?
How do you also delete an item from a ds_list randomly?

To delete a random entry you would find the length of the list (minus one), and set a random range from 0 to that length. Whatever the random range returns - you delete that index. Look up 'random_range' / 'irandom_range' in the manual - I'm not quite sure of the difference between them, but they have a minimum and maximum value and will return a random choice from between the two points. i think 'irandom_range' is the one you'd want, as it returns a rounded own value and you want a whole number.

But if you want to know what you've deleted (so it can be restored), then you'd want another list which stores the information of deleted indexes so you could compare the two. If you wanted the "resurrection" to be random, then you'd repeat the random range step.

Np - you'll find the functions for randomizing things under 'Real Number Functions'. I edited my previous post because I'm not quite sure which one of the two you'll need.

Your code would probably be like this:

var size = ds_list_size(active_list) - 1; // gets the list size, and minuses one - as indexes start at zero
var list_range = irandom_range(0, size); // sets the random range to between zero and end size
var value = ds_list_find_value(active_list, list_range); // finds the value at that index position (the returned number of list_range)