• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GML [Solved] Charged Attack With Sword

I

Intelligents

Hello, I'm new to programming with Game Maker's GML. How would I go about creating a charged attack that can be released at any time until fully charged, where it will automatically attack, and deal damage to an enemy based on how long it is charged? I don't have much experience with this and don't have a sample of code to work off of yet.

If I am overstretching and trying to do something I'm not ready for, please let me know. I'd have to work on simpler game mechanics.

T

Tyler Logsdon

Nah. This is very basic(not to say you don't have skill, I have problems with very basic gml things too and I've been coding for 6 years)

What you could do(this is off the top of my head there's probably a way better way to do it) is in the step event, check if charge button is oressed, and if it is, add +1(you will probably want something a lot lower) and in the keyboard release event, do damage equal to the charge and then set it back to 0.

S

Silver_Mantis

Hello, I'm new to programming with Game Maker's GML. How would I go about creating a charged attack that can be released at any time until fully charged, where it will automatically attack, and deal damage to an enemy based on how long it is charged? I don't have much experience with this and don't have a sample of code to work off of yet.

If I am overstretching and trying to do something I'm not ready for, please let me know. I'd have to work on simpler game mechanics.
The real question is, do you have an attacking system set up at all?
Anything is possible if you put your mind to it, but I have no clue what you have built already haha.