• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Solomon's Key remake (Includes playable DEMO)

I

immortalx

EDIT: This is now finished! I've made a new thread in the "Made with GameMaker" section:
https://forum.yoyogames.com/index.php?threads/solomons-key-classic-arcade-remake.55322/

Hi everyone, John here.
At little too late, at 44 yrs old, I finally decided to write a game :D
While I've written my first line of code on a Spectrum +2 in '87 or so, I'm still a noob, as I've never took the time to learn proper programming and all I did was fiddling with various programming languages and game engines over the years, for brief periods of time.
This time I eliminated the most difficult task : Deciding what to do! So I figured what's better than remaking a classic game, keep focused on programming the thing and not worry about over-ambitious ideas. I'm a newcomer to GM and this project has helped tremendously to learn the IDE and gml.

My goal is remaking this game as close as possible, without worrying about the little details.
I started by ripping the graphics from the arcade game. It was a tedious task as I copied the sprites frame by frame, before knowing about the image strip feature.
The mechanics are almost finished. They need some fine-tuning and fixing some bugs in the crouched position. The scripted sequences for level-start, level-end, etc are there in a crude form and they need some fine-tuning too. I also completed a couple of enemy AI (there's still at least a dozen to do!).

There's still left tons to do before starting creating the levels, like score/lives tracking, collectable items, sound & music, menu screen, etc.

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:
I

immortalx