So I've been recording my journey learning GameMaker

V

VicJBalbian

I'm not a programmer.

Or an artist, really.

But I really love games. And I've been trying to record my journey in learning how to make them ever since I grabbed the GameMaker Studio Humble Bundle. I started a channel last week and have made a simple Shoot 'em up, Pong and Space Invaders so far. The editing is definitely on the shorter side, but perhaps some of you might find it entertaining!

My Channel:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyWG4wN6S2EAG7B3CLLdS5Q

My First Game:

Making Pong Variants:

Making Space Invaders:

Step by Step Space Invaders Picture Album:

http://imgur.com/gallery/Olxa5

Making Centipede Lite

Step by Step Centipede Picture Album:

http://imgur.com/gallery/UioQX

Making Anti-Aircraft Plus

Step by Step Anti-Aircraft Coming Over The Weekend!

Thanks for watching and hopefully there was some value in my journey to you!

Last edited by a moderator:

Gravedust

Hey cool, nice initial games! Cute solution to making the space invaders change directions and descend, BTW. :)
Anyway, Glad you're having fun and hope you stick with it. :)

V

VicJBalbian

Thanks! It certainly made the invaders a lot more hectic. Still tweaking to be done, of course, but it's been fun for sure.

V

VicJBalbian

Updated the videos with Centipede. Sort of. One of the main mechanics, anyway. Mirroring paths seems like voodoo at the moment, but figuring it out little by little. Step by step forth-coming.

Sabnock

These games are a great way to learn game maker and any form of programming. You've made a cracking start.

You definitely ahoukd try and do the space invaders alien pack as this is a good way to learn how to control multiple instances and synchronise them.

You've also upset my plans as I have been doing a quadrilogy of 80's games and was going to stop on the one I am currently making but now I really want to do centipede :)

V

VicJBalbian

Haha. I am having a blast.