• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM Simple 2D menu array

C

colcha

Hi,

I'm a graphics artist who has decided to expand my skills to coding in game maker to make a game. So far so good but I have hit a slight wall with menu arrays and was hoping someone could give me a simple explanation for what I want.

I have a menu working with single options, but what I'd like is for each option in the menu to load a different sub menus. For example if the fist option on the main menu is called "music" then there will be "track 1", "track 2" and "track 3 to select from once "music" is selected from main menu.

Then the second option on the menu could be "video", which leads to the menu "video1" and "video 2".

Hope that's clear enough. I've seen a few tutorials on 2D arrays but seem incompatible with what I want to do or are part of something bigger. Just need to know how to set it up in its simplest form to work it out. Thanks

Z

Zekka

You could represent your menu like this:

Code:
menu[0][0] = "Music";

menu[0][1] = "Track 1";
menu[0][2] = "Track 2";
menu[0][3] = "Track 3";
menu[0][4] = undefined; // end of submenu marker

menu[1][0] = "Video";
menu[1][1] = "Video 1";
menu[1][2] = "Video 2";
menu[1][3] = undefined; // end of submenu marker

menu[2][0] = undefined; // end of menu marker
Your code to operate on it might look something like this.

Code:
for (var opt = 0; menu[opt][0] != undefined; opt++) {
  // do something with option
  var option = menu[opt][0];

if (selected == i) { // selected is an instance variable saying what base menu the user is looking at
    // if selected, draw the suboptions
    for (var subopt = 1; menu[opt][subopt] != undefined; subopt++) {