1. Hello Guest! It's with a heavy heart that we must announce the removal of the Legacy GMC Archive. If you wish to save anything from it, now's the time! Please see this topic for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

Simons Curse, Simons quest designed in modern metroidvania style

Discussion in 'Work in Progress' started by Metzger, Jul 24, 2019.

1. Metzger

Metzger Member

Hiya!

I have been making Simon's quest remake for 6 years now, progress has been slow due to work, school, life, etc, etc.

The game fixes all of the problems that I could think of from the original Simon's Quest
    along with additional features, bosses etc etc... And improved graphics made by me using the original style art as a base. It also makes the game more modern metroidvania like, adding things that you are used to form those games.

I will also keep updating this first post as things advance... updated 3.6.2019

Whats ready?
    Well the full engine is done everything works as it should, items, physics, enemy ai, movement, etc.
    Whats not ready?
    Prolly about 50% of location graphics, little less than half of the enemies and some minor things.

Thou now I'm some what ready to show what I have done and also because I think I need help with this game if I ever want to get this finished. I need some one ( or a few ) who can make music and castlevania style pixel art. I think this is the right place to ask for such help. Cant give you any money or anything thou as I'm poor, thou if your works ends up in the game I will give you credit in game.

More info about the game:
    - Old things generally hated that were removed or changed: Oaks stake and its function, dying in water in cities, obscure npc's, you don't lose all hearts/gold by dying, hearts and gold are separate,
    no need for nintendo power anymore, no long waits during day/night cycles, text flows faster in text boxes, exp no longer locked to heart containers, etc stuff I forgot
    - Full controller support