• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Should I get prior experience first?

G

GameMakerGuy

Hello! I am irrelevant! I have decided to use GMS for my first journey into making games. I have NO prior experience and am wondering whether I should get prior coding experience or if I could jump straight into GML?
If I am able to do the latter, Could you provide good sources of learning?

Thanks.

Roldy

There are plenty of tutorials on this site: https://www.yoyogames.com/learn

Both for DnD and GML. Nothing stopping you from going through those and learning what they have to teach.

Go through the Space Rocks tutorial. After it is complete come up with ideas and modify that game.

woods

GMS is a great place to start ..and there are alot of helpful/friendly people here willing to lend a hand.
i would suggest starting out with learning the basic basic parts of game maker.. the manual is your best friend ;o) read that thing every time you open a project.. every time you come across a new function.

poke around and find some tutorials focus mainly on "how things work"... instead of "make this in x hours!" you will get more out of it ;o)
if you understand the logic behind something.. you can modify it or make similar that meets YOUR needs (every game is different)
if you find you dont know how to make a thing happen.. do some research, look up similar things and how its done.. then if you still cant get it, come to the forums and ask for some assistance.
if you show that you have put in some work, most people here will be glad to match you effort and lend a hand.

biggest piece of advice i can give, is start small and dont start on your "dream project" until you have a firm stance.