• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Securely transferring data to online database

P

Pieps

Oi,

This is more for reference if anything rather than directly seeking advice(as it's a tad on the troublesome size to answer within here I presume). I'm looking to make a database through, for example, MySQL and securely so.

Not like you just check your outgoing connection and change "vscore=cocks" in the sent data as you desire, like decrypt it somehow(or however that's suppose to work, I'm a total layman to it). Now I'm a bit of a poor slob so I've got but gamemaker 8.

Tried searching for tutorials, and amongst the very sparse few none did the job. So I'm looking for someone who could link me to a good tutorial I could possibly use, or explain what I need to do really superficially so I've at least got a starting point.

Thanks boys

Z

Zekka

Maybe you already recognize this, but below is, unfortunately, a protocol that can't be made completely secure:

- Client: Server, this is my high score. Please accept it. Thanks.
- Server: Accepted.

There's no way at all to verify that people won't change the client's message, because it's generated by code running on their computer. Even if you encrypt the client's message, it will be possible for the game's user to modify the game to send your new message using its old encryption. This is the same as the cat-and-mouse game you get with DRM.

This is a protocol that can be made secure:

- Client: Server, this is my high score, and a log of the game activity that produced the high score. Thanks.
- Server: One moment.