• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Script thing has me stumped - SOLVED

Heathenlamb

So I have a GM project I use for a bunch of commercial clients. I have avoided updating the runtime etc. for as long as I could. So I have updated it and now all the script functions are stuffed. I am completely aware the script handling has changed and there is a detailed explanation, which doesn't seem to really explain the basic premise of how to get the calls to just work as before. I am not an amazing programmer so I cobble together things that work.

I need all my previous scripts to work as they are because there is a crap load of code that calls them. Is there no simple way to just call the scripts the way the previous version did ? I am clearly not understanding something basic here. The scripts are not ones I have written as I don't know enough to do that. I do however understand enough to call them the old way. So how do I just get the scripts to be called in code without rewriting a whole bunch of stuff ?

I am not asking for my code to be fixed, I guess I just need a simpler breakdown of how the script is now called into the game.

Any help would be appreciated as I have to get this sorted ASAP.

samspade

I'd recommend writing it personally. Having done so for a number of projects it doesn't take that long and it is very worth it from the project management standpoint. That said, the 2.3 conversion should do it for you automatically, no work required. Are you getting specific error messages?

Otherwise these articles do a good job explaining how to rewrite it simply:
Straight forward video:

Evanski

Raccoon Lord
Forum Staff