RTS Games - A bit of a conceptual discussion!

M

mysticjim

Hello people.

I think this post is going to be me more thinking aloud and inviting opinion rather than asking a specific question. Which is different for me, I've not posted much on this forum and everything I've posted previously has been more to do with my own ineptitude in getting Gamemaker to do what I want rather than game design!

Just for a bit of scope on myself;

So, I'm fairly new to Gamemaker, in fact I'm returning to game making in general after prolonged absences. I dabbled in it way back in the day on an Atari ST and then an Amiga (anybody remember STOS and Amos BASIC?!!!!!!!!!!) Besides a tiny bit of Pascal and C+ coding when I was at college I didn't touch programming for over 15 years, in which time my creative spark mostly went towards music (playing and recording) and video (directing and editing). I got back into game making to make simple, little games for my young son. I initially tried out Gamesalad because I really didn't think I could hack coding anymore, but naturally I'm wanting to do more sophisticated stuff and I feel Gamemaker is a clear step up with GML. I'm not really harbouring profit making ambitions otherwise I'd probably go down the Unity route, and I really do enjoy 2D pixel graphics and am a bit of a sucker for things retro, and Gamemaker feels really natural so far. I do have ambitions of online multiplayer games so may yet hit a limit of what Gamemaker can currently do, but I'm nowhere near that stage and am loving the Gamemaker experience so will certainly be using it for a good while.