• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Rotate sprite when move direction is changed

M

Muvvin

Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to programming and recently got a problem which I can't solve on my own:
if (horizontalgeschw != 0 || vertikalgeschw != 0) {
while (angle_difference(direction,image_angle) < 0) {
image_angle += 2;
}
while (angle_difference(direction,image_angle) < 0) {
image_angle -= 2;
}
}
else {
image_angle = image_angle;
}

It doesn't give me any errors, but the sprite just doesn't rotate when I change the direction of movement to up etc.
I just want to get a smooth rotation, not an instant flip to the new direction.
Any ideas? Thanks for your help, show mercy, I'm new here :D

Cheers

D

Dracodino300

Two things you want to change there:
1. You have "angle_difference < 0" for both statements. You want one to be > 0 (though I can't remember which).
2. If you want smooth rotation. Change the "while" statements to "if". Having while there is just a slow way of having instant rotation.

Also, you don't need that else statement there. It won't change anything by removing it.

Z

zendraw

just do
var adf=angle_difference(direction, image_angle);
if (abs(adf)<=rotation_speed) {image_angle=direction}
else
{
image_angle+=sign(adf)*rotation_speed;
}

not sure what the if check is for but perhaps you can remove it. if you dont know what sign() or abs() is then check the manual. rotation_speed in your case is 2.

M

Muvvin

Thanks for the replies guys, my mistakes are very embarrassing, didn't look through my code carefully enough. Fixed the mistakes, but it still doesn't work ...