• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Rotary Spinner Control - Mouse X Movement

meyers980

Hello everyone, I'm still somewhat new to GM Studio 2, only made a couple simple games. I'm now creating a dedicated game for a small project that I'd like to control through a spinner - which is essentially a mouse that only detects X movement.

Up until now, I've only used drag n drop. But I'd be willing to have some code blocks too.

Can someone help me? I've done searching but not found exactly what I want. Essentially, when the mouse X increases by a certain amount, I'd like to jump to a point. And when mouse X decreases by a certain amount, I'd like to jump to another point.

Thanks for any guidance!

P

Pyxus

Hello everyone, I'm still somewhat new to GM Studio 2, only made a couple simple games. I'm now creating a dedicated game for a small project that I'd like to control through a spinner - which is essentially a mouse that only detects X movement.

Up until now, I've only used drag n drop. But I'd be willing to have some code blocks too.

Can someone help me? I've done searching but not found exactly what I want. Essentially, when the mouse X increases by a certain amount, I'd like to jump to a point. And when mouse X decreases by a certain amount, I'd like to jump to another point.

Thanks for any guidance!
Sorry i'm failing to understand what you're asking for, got another game to compare your idea to? or maybe a gif of some sort?

meyers980

Sure, something like Breakout or Pong. In those games, when you move the spinner - your paddle moves in the direction you spin.