• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

SOLVED Rope swing without physics engine

ErlandSol

Im trying to implement a rope swing into my game, i have a bit of experience with GML, but im still learning

I dont want to use the built in physics engine, instead i have made my own system based in physics
Its quite primitive, and a little messy, but it works, and i understand it, and im thinking about refining it a bit.

I have followed some tutorials and forum posts, and have managed to get a functioning rope swing, but it doesnt function
the way i want it to..
That one is based on creating an angular force using dcos() and dsin(), then into angular accelleration and angular speed,
which splits up into x and y speeds using lengthdir_x() and lengthdir_y()

GML:
// "Shoot" rope
if (mouse_check_button_pressed(mb_left)) {
    xHook = mouse_x;
    yHook = mouse_y;// - oTree.scroll;
    xRope = x;
    yRope = y;       
    ropeLength = point_distance(xHook,yHook,x,y);
    ropeAngle = point_direction(xHook,yHook,x,y);
    angSpeed = 0;   
}

// Calc x and y forces
xDrag = -0.4*dcos(ropeAngle-90)*angSpeed;
yDrag = -0.4*dsin(ropeAngle-90)*angSpeed;
xForce =  xDrag;
yForce =  gameValues.grav + yDrag;

// Calc. angular force -> speed
angForce = xForce*dcos(ropeAngle-90) + yForce*dsin(ropeAngle-90);
angAcc = angForce/mass;
angSpeed += angAcc; 
ropeAngle += angSpeed;

// Calc. x and y speed   
xRope = xHook - lengthdir_x(ropeLength, ropeAngle-180);
yRope = yHook - lengthdir_y(ropeLength, ropeAngle-180);
xSpeed = xRope - x;
ySpeed = yRope - y;

// Move   
x += xSpeed;
y += ySpeed;