GameMaker Room transitioning doesn't work at all

S

steph

Hi, I'm completely new to programming and decided to follow FriendlyCosmonaut's Farming RPG tutorial series on youtube. I'm trying to set up the room transition area but my character just walks right through it with no reaction.

This is the code I put under the player's Step action for the collision and transition:

Code:
//------ collision

// horizotal
if(moveX != 0){
if(place_meeting(x+moveX, y, obj_collision)){
    repeat(abs(moveX)){
    if(!place_meeting(x+sign(moveX), y, obj_collision)){
        x += sign(moveX);
        } else {break;}
}
moveX = 0
}
}

// vertical
if(moveY !=0){
if(place_meeting(x, y+moveY, obj_collision)){
        repeat(abs(moveY)){
    if(!place_meeting(x, y+sign(moveY), obj_collision)){ y += sign(moveY); }
        else {break;}
}
moveY = 0
}
}

// transition
var inst = instance_place(x,y,obj_transition);
if(inst = !noone) {

room_goto(inst.targetRoom);

}

//------- apply movement
x += moveX;
y += moveY;

I made obj_transition and under the Create action put this:

Code:
targetRoom = -1;
And at the door where I put up the transition area to enter the building (room2), under Creation Code I put this:

Code:
targetRoom = rm_farm_house;

Any help appreciated!

Simon Gust

Does obj_transition have a collision mask or assigned sprite?
Without it, there will be no collision.

Also, slight typo.
This
Code:
if(inst = !noone) {
should be this
Code:
if(inst != noone) {

S

steph

Does obj_transition have a collision mask or assigned sprite?
Without it, there will be no collision.

Also, slight typo.
This
Code:
if(inst = !noone) {
should be this
Code:
if(inst != noone) {