• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Room Scaling Help

M

MrTheRat

Forgive me if this has previously been addressed somewhere. I've spent over an hour trying to find a solution and because my problem still exists I'm asking for help here. I've toyed with the older Game Maker and now Game Maker Studio on Steam off and on within the past few years and I've never encountered this problem until I began production in Studio. If you can help, please keep it simple or well-explained since I'm not very good at using this tool.

Basically I have an introduction room to my game with a width of 368 and a height of 704 and when the user activates the play button the room is supposed to transition to the next, which has a width of 640 and a height of 480. As I understand it, the window originally would automatically shape the size of your room but it didn't in this case. I proceeded to put in this code: window_set_size(640,480) which seemed to be what I wanted. For a brief second the room fits that new window, but then it seems to instantly deflate back to the old dimensions in a squished and unintended way, much like it looked before I adjusted the window except with thick black bars on the side made from the window I expanded.

I feel like this has an easy fix. Hope I can get some help. Thanks.

Nocturne

Friendly Tyrant
Forum Staff
Admin