• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker Room physics prevents character from moving

T

TToasterr

Okay, I am fairly new to GMS 2, but I have been messing around with it and creating a small, random game for fun. Everything works fine, up until I turn room physics on. It prevents the character from moving, and I have tried googling it but cannot find anything. Maybe i'm just being dumb?

This is how I have the movement set up:
GM Screenshot.PNG

The physics for the character:
GM Screenshot 2.PNG

And for the floor:
GM Screenshot 1.PNG

If you want to see any other part of it, Just tell me.
I also apologize, as alot of my 'coding' (DnD) is probably very clunky seeming to you, but I'm just trying to get stuff to work, not have it look nice.

Nocturne

Friendly Tyrant
Forum Staff
Admin
Okay, this is because the jump-to-point and other movement actions are working on a standard instance and instance variable. However when you enable physics, you are also enabling a whole host of new instance variables that DON'T currently have a DnD implimentation. FOr example, to move you should be using the physics impulse and force functions, although you can use drag and drop to set the ph_position_x and and phy_position_y variables too. So, if you are going to use physics then you'll need to use a bit of GML code, but vefore you do ask yourself if you NEED physics for the game. Enabling physics is very different to using normal instances and it may be that it won't benefit your project in the long run...

T

TToasterr