1. Hey! Guest! The 35th GMC Jam will take place between November 28th, 12:00 UTC - December 2nd, 12:00 UTC. Why not join in! Click here to find out more!
    Dismiss Notice

Question - IDE Room Editor - Inheritance issues

Discussion in 'GameMaker Studio 2 Community Tech Support' started by muddrox, Nov 6, 2019.

1. muddrox

muddrox Member

So recently I wanted to try out room inheritance to make my project more manageable. I am new to using Game Maker 2 after prying myself away from Game Maker Studio 1.4 but here I am. However, I have found room inheritance to be quite infuriating and it has led me to ask a number of questions that I wanted to open up to anyone who has the answers:

1-When I click "Inherit Layers," it inherits every layer in the parent room. That's annoying. Why can't I choose what layers I want to inherit?

2-If I change a single thing about any of the layers in the child room, it breaks the relationship to all the layers I inherited. Why can't I just break the relationship to one or two layers instead of losing parent-child inheritance to ALL of them?

3-If I delete and inherited layer I don't want, I instantly lose the parent-child relationship to all my inherited layers. Since I can't pick and choose what inherited layers I want from a single parent, why can't I at least delete the layers I don't want without sacrificing parent-child relationship with every layer that room is inheriting?

4-Why does all my inherited layers show up at the bottom of the list of layers even when their depth shows they should be listed at the top? This is confusing and rather odd to me.