• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Removing/Deleting Draw events

Wendell

So, I'm quite new to Game Maker and I'm trying to make a previously drawed event (a draw_rectangle and a draw_text) to disappear after a mouse click, remembering that, to draw the text and triangle, I used the same mouse click.

So, how can I make them to disapper after a second click? They are being called by a script and being drawn by an object which is not in the room, it is only used to create the rectangle and the text above it.

Something like this:
Click = shows the rectangle and the text
Second click = removes both from screen

T

tserek

You need a counter variable and add 1 each time to that once mouse button is pressed?

create:
Code:
click=0;
draw:
Code:
if mouse_check_button_pressed(mb_left)
{
 click+=1;
}

if click mod 2 !=0
{
 // draw stuff..
}

Last edited by a moderator:
S

Sam (Deleted User)

draw:
Code:
if mouse_check_button_pressed(mb_left)
{
 click+=1;
}
It is a better practice to process things such as mouse and keyboard checks in the step event instead of draw AFAIK.

Wendell

Well, it almost works... it draws the text, but it does not vanishes when I press the mouse button again.

S

Sam (Deleted User)

Try what @sp202 recommended. Boolean is a fancy way of saying true/false. I would give you a code snippet right now if I wasn't up all night.

Wendell

The way @sp202 works, but the text shows and vanishes instantly, with one click. It does not wait for me to click again for it to disappear.

Wendell

the draw event

Code:
if mouse_check_button_pressed(mb_right)
    {
    show = !show
    }

if show
    {
            //caixa de texto inferior