• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Remembering which enemies have been killed

M

Matt93

I've been trying to implement a checkpoint system, in which the enemies that have been killed before a checkpoint won't respawn after I've hit a checkpoint. If you don't get to the checkpoint, enemies respawn as usual. Do I need to use a ds_list to store the id of the enemies killed? Any help with how to do this would be really helpful, as I can't work out what I'm doing, or whether I have the right idea with this. I've never used ds_lists before, so if I'm on track, any advice on what to do would be great.

Thanks!

B

bojack29

i would make an array with different lists inside each element of the array (1d).

Then make a variable that tracks the progress of the player. Assuming there are 10 segments of a level, and 10 segments of the array, if the player progress ivariable is 6 only segments 6-10 of the array (using lists) will be used to create enemies

johnwo

ds_list or array could come in handy.

If you spawn all the enemies at the start of the room, you could do something like this, in a "control" object of your choice:
Code:
// Room start
alarm[0] = 1;

// Alarm 0
var enemyObjIndex = obj_enemy;
var currentArrayIndex = 0;
enemy_id_array[instance_number(enemyObjIndex)] = noone;

with enemyObjIndex other.enemy_id_array[other.currentArrayIndex++] = id;

// enemy_id_array[0..n], where n is the number of enemies - 1, now holds the enemy instance id's.
Although this is not tested whatsoever, it should work with little to no modification.

Cheers!