Regenerating HP

S

Sabotage

Hello,

I'm an artist who is attempting to create a game, and this is my first time delving into the world of coding. I've been at this for about 2 weeks, and started off with some open-source code which was already doing some of the things I wanted to accomplish.
All that to say, I know nothing of complicated coding practices but am growing more and more familiar with GML and simpler code.

So where I'm at now is that I've got collision working (via a script and parent object.)
I've got an HP bar. I've got health deterioration and I've got player death.

What I want to do is create a system alike to Halo or Call of Duty (i think?), where they have a delayed regeneration after not receiving damage for a time.
At the moment I'm struggling to understand alarm events and wonder if there is an easier way to do this or if someone could explain / post the code to make this work.

Currently I have something which is completely wrong but might show you where my mind is at;

takedamage = currentHP-- (this variable is in the create event)

//wait to check if HP is still going down
if takedamage == false
{
alarm[0] = 3*room_speed;
HPregen = true
}

//initialize regen
if currentHP < maxHP
{
currentHP += HPregen
}

What I want to happen is this; While the player is receiving damage (health is actively deteriorating) there is no HPregen. When the player is no longer receiving damage, wait 3 seconds, activate HPregen (until max health.)
This would need to be interruptable via receiving damage again.

F

ForesterPL

Try this:
Create another variable- alarmStarted.

In step event:
Code:
if (takedamage == false && alarmStarted == false)
{
    alarm[0] = 3*room_speed;
    alarmStarted = true;
}

if (takedamage == true)
{
    alarmStarted = false;
    HPregen = false;
}

if (currentHP < maxHP && HPregen == true)
{
    currentHP += 1;
}
In alarm 0 event:
Code:
HPregen = true;

S

Sabotage