random procedual generation sugestions. (demo included)

D

Dengar

so everyone seems to be on this procedural gemeration bandwagon, so I finaly hopped on...and its pretty freakin kool.
this is my system I thought of and was just wanting thoughts and opinions. mostly cause im new to procedural generation. and I kno most ppl go with perlin noise which this is not.

how my system works:
it draws all tiles green.
then it draws cliffs. cliffs start at a random point and choose a direction to travel(right or left) then every movement itll decide if its going up,down, or straight with a higher chance of going straight and never having 3 rows of cliffs.
then it draws water. water starts at a random location and every movement it randomly chooses to move up,down,left, or right.
waterfalls occure when water is placed over a cliff tile.
trees are just randomly placed.
and finaly theres a little bit of cleanup that ensures water at the tops and bottom of all waterfalls.

water and cliffs have set lengths, and also times they draw. but itll prematurely terminate if it blocks itself in.

I realy realy like the waterfalls and plan on animating all the tiles in the future, but id realy like this to showcase waterfalls and elevation, but in a simple fashion. I just haven't figured out a good way to express elevation, and I think my cliff method is poor.

Download: http://www.mediafire.com/download/b476q77vya266ya/Project_random_terra.exe
world consists of 16 rooms. player is purple square with arrow. generation works, player movement works, rooms transitions and collisions also work. player will randomly be placed in a room. and the other color dots are for npc spawning.
arrow keys are movement
spacebar will generate a new world.

this is the look im wanting to achieve with my cliffs, but im thinking I just need to draw the cliff better because how its layed out is good I think...idk suggestions?

Last edited by a moderator:
Z

zircher