• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Random objects at random, yet fixed, spawns

B

BladeGamez

Hey there. Total noob to the community, so I am guessing this is the appropriate place for asking about code. I have a party-like game where players go around an arena for a set amount of time and try to gather items and then are taken to a place where they can equip them and then fight to the death. I was wondering how would I go about programming it so that a random object would be selected out of all of the objects and then set in one of five locations at random (If you can also tell me how to put this in random intervals of time under ten seconds as I have a timer that moves on when a certain time goes by).

Any feedback will help!

Tthecreator

Your Creator!
Alright, first of all you would have to setup a list of items.
Have you looked into arrays in game maker? If you haven't I highly suggest you do! Without knowledge of arrays you won't be able to follow my explanation.
So setup a array as a list of objects:
Code:
items[0]=obj_sword
items[1]=obj_sword
items[2]=obj_my_sanity
Now you want to use the irandom(); function to get a random number between 0 and the highest entry in the array.
This happens to be 2 in my example, but if you want to get this programatically you can use array_length_1d() which will count the amount of items in an array, including 0, thus returning 3 for the examplearray. You will have to substract one of it giving you this code:
Code:
randomobject=items[irandom(array_length_1d(items)-1)]
Now you can use instance_create() for this.

From here, you have a few options on how to exactly implement it, but I'd suggest you use invisible spawning objects.