• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Random Item Generation

S

SYSTEM_FAILURE

Hey Guys, this is my 1st post on this forum. I've been using game maker studio 2 for about 2 years now, I've progressed a lot by reading books, youtube videos, and forums posts. I'm working on a Rogue-lite action RPG and I'm pleased with the progress I've made so far, however i have ran into a problem which im hoping you guys can advise on.

Problem 1.
I would like to have a randomised loot system in the game. Much like Diablo, grim dawn, torchlight e.t.c, where an item can drop with given stats, then the same item can drop again with different stats. Im not sure how to allocate a unique ID to each new item generated. I've been experimenting with arrays, ds_lists, ds_maps and ds_grids and would really appreciate some advice on this one :)

Problem 2.
There will be a total of 12 main types of items (to determine equipment slot).
There will be a total of 6 different rarities of item. (Rarity already implemented)
The rarity will determine how many stats an item has.
The item needs to pick 'x' number of stats to apply to the item on creation.
I've divided the item stats into 2 groups, random stats, and generic stats.
Generic stats are present in all items, like the item sprite, the item sell value, name, rarity e.t.c
Randomised stats are like strength, attackSpeed, criticalDamage e.t.c (there's a list of 50+)
The item will be given a 'level' relative to the player, and the stat values will be relative to the item level (to scale as character progresses)
Some items types will have default stats, like a weapon would have min & max damage, but a piece of armour wouldn't have this. The list goes on