• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Questions about online multiplayer (netcode)

S

super8bit

I'm new to GameMaker and have some questions:
1) Is online multiplayer something I will need to implement from scratch or there are tools to help me ?
2)How stable is a multiplayer game made with GameMaker?
3)If I needed to pay a third party to code it, how much can it cost? (I know this is a hard question to be answered but I want at least to understand how many time/effort is put into the code)

I don't have much experience with coding aside from Javascript, so I'm probably not the best person to code a "netcode".

Sorry if this question is repeated I searched the forum and found some other threads but none had the same questions.

Note: If this is the wrong place please feel free to move it.

Surgeon_

Symbian Curator
I don't know if this answers at least one of your questions, but adding multiplayer functionality on top of an existing game is usually nearly impossible or extremely tedious at best. Unless you have multiplayer in mind right from the start and build your game around it, I'd say don't bother with it.

How stable would it be? Well, if you code it properly it will run just fine.

About tools, there are some networking engines some other forum members made, but whether they could help you or not largely depends on how you want to structure your game (mostly if it would be peer-to-peer or hosted on a large master server).

S

super8bit