Questions About Faux Desktops/Computer Interfaces

H

HedinnWeis

Hello,

I'm new here. I'm new to the whole gamedev scene actually. I decided to make my account after following some tutorials and learning some very basic top-down shooter stuff and GML on youtube.

I don't know how many of you have played Cibele, Hacknet, Uplink, Emily is Away, etc, but I want to do a very simple version of one of those kinds of games. Basically just a faux computer desktop that the player can interact with to read emails and narrative content.

Is there anything specifically I should know before I attempt this? How would you go about starting something like this?

I think that, ideally, the player sprite would move from one room to a room that represented the computer monitor (the player sprite/movement controls would change here), but I have no clue where to begin.

Again, I am very new to this so the simplest solutions/lowest depth would be the best.

Thank you,

HedinnWeis

Ninety

Not sure if you're looking for implementation suggestions or design advice. If it's the former, I suggest some kind of transition to show the change; maybe a screen appearing with a little animation and booting up. I think an instant swap between play styles would be jarring.

On design of faux interfaces: SIMPLIFY. You can't mimic the visual complexity of most standard GUIs, with dozens of folders and lots of tabs open. The player needs to be able to see the key elements without clutter.

H

HedinnWeis

Kind of both. I'm looking to explore all kinds of stuff with this.

Good idea on the transition! I'll look up how to do that today. My rooms all just kind of run together at the moment.

I currently have it set to swap the player with a mouse pointer that is controlled the same way (WASD) and applications open when place_meeting, etc.
As for clutter, my faux desktop only has two applications right now: a fake email app and an app that dumps them back outside of the desktop environment.