[QUESTION] Having a hard time solving this simple problem:

N

Nuno

Context

Hey! I'm new in the GM community :D. I joined today and installed GM some days ago.
I have 0 experience with any form of coding... but I am trying my best, although struggling, to learn GML, from videos and online content kindly shared from you and the GM Team through the Wiki, forums, etc... I'm familiar with some concepts already and if you can/are willing to help me I would like to ask you to not hold back in concepts or expressions, if i don't understand something like a function, it's my problem and I'll research about it before asking what it means/does. Thank you for your attention and let me apologize in advance for any linguistic mistake I may make.

Targeted concept

There's a game called Two Dots on the Google Pay Store, that consists in linking dots of the same color to make them disappear. Here's a GIF illustrating:

Problem :bash:

I want to make the exact same concept. Pressing an object and drag from it a line that you can link to other object, with the addition of making the line relatively thick with a glow effect. Attention: it is not clear from the animation above, however you don't have to connect the dots for the line to appear, by simply pressing a dot and dragging your finger away from it, a line becomes visible, connecting your finger location to the dot you've initially pressed and then locking up between two dots, as your finger location meets the second dot. Obviously I'm not looking for someone to send me the code for this, I just need some help conceptualizing how I could code this because i honestly have no clue and couldn't find anything related to this online either...

Hypothesis

• Using the draw_line(Obj_x,Obj_y,Cursor_x,Cursor_y) in a step event with the initial object coordinates and my cursor/finger coordinates to make the game continuously draw a line? The problem with this hypothesis is the fact that i can't make the line thicker nor glowing :(