• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Question - Code Question. External assets and drawing layers to surfaces.

T

Tankwars

I'm still learning the ropes of GMS:2, so I apologise if these questions sound a little stupid. :oops:

First question, is it possible to draw specific layers of any type to a surface? Reason i'm asking is because I want to try to add multiple shader effects to some layers, but not others. In GMS:1, I had to draw sprites to one surface to apply an effect, then feed that surface into a new surface to apply another effect, before finally drawing the last surface in the chain. I know that in GMS:1, you could only have one shader set at a specific time, and it seems to work the same way in GMS:2. I am aware of the layer_shader() function, but you can only have one active for each layer it seems. Combining two shader effects into one wouldn't really help, because sometimes you need a bit more flexibility over how an effect behaves.