Quarantine Programming Help

H

HarmonicDwarf

Hi there. I've been trying to fix this game for about 4 months now. I'm new to Game Maker and only have basic programming knowledge. What I'm looking for is someone that is great with Game Maker, that is stuck inside, and is looking to just help a person get their first game up and running!!! I don't know if I'm thinking too hard, not hard enough, or perhaps just wrong entirely. Anyone that wants to hop in a discord chat and do a screen share and just bang out some issues that I'm running into would be fantastic!

I know I know... "Just google the problems" or "StackOverflow, we all learned how you can too." or "We can't do it FOR you".

I'm not looking for that. I'm looking for someone that can just push me in the right direction on my game. Someone that can go thru it and say "oh.... ya I see what you're trying to do, now let's try this." For a person just starting out it's sometimes hard to just google a solution for a few reasons. 1. Might not know the correct terminology. 2. There are a myriad of ways to do one thing. 3. Might just be thinking too hard!

So if you're willing to help, please drop me a line here, message me. And thanks in advance <3 :)

S

shrunkenmaster

I think you would have a better chance of help if you at least outlined the problem you are having here. I'm new to GM too and have been kindly helped on this forum.

It may take a while for a reply (I'm itching for a reply/help at the moment) but in the meantime I'd recommend making regular backup versions of your game, so you can go back to the last working version if you get in a mess.

Use the built-in manual if you're not already, you can highlight a command and press F1 for an explanation/example. I also learned a lot from making the example games like Space Rocks, which I'd also encourage you to do.

Good luck with the game.

H

HarmonicDwarf