• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Professional game saving with binary files

GM Version: Studio (all)
Target Platform: Windows
Download: n/a
Links: n/a

Summary:
Hey. In this tutorial i want to teach you how game saving is made in professional games (using binary files). Im not an expert just want to share my experience with all of you!

Intro (Why use binary?)
But why all games are using binary files to save their data, here is the advantages over the text files (INI, JSON, etc.)
1. It is much harder to modify a binary file (to modify binary data you need to know the file structure, so editing your files can be almost impossible)
2. Binary files dont waste your memory (if you compare binary file with INI file for example)
"[Section] value=12345678"
Results:
INI file size = 24 bytes
Raw binary data = 4 bytes
3. Binary files are much easier to post-process (what i mean by "post-process" is data compression/encryption. Because of digital representation you chose - it is similar to how your computer memory organized and it is much more easier for your program to modify data)

Practice
Before we start you need to know the basics of memory organization. You should know what is bit, byte, bit shifting/multiplication operations are.
Also you need to know the precision of data types ranges. Here is the good link for you : https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/cpp/cpp/data-type-ranges?view=vs-2019
So,
Lets image you have a set of data - integers and strings.
Here is saving data sample:
GML:
//* DATA SAVING *//

var byte = 120;
var short = 16000;
var int = 283400;
var str = "Hello world!";

// Open binary file (0 - reading, 1 - writing, 2 - both)