• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Problems with sprite collision mask?

E

Evalina

So, I've been using Gamemaker Studio 2 for a few months to make a game for competition. I now have to revise said game which worked perfectly about a month ago when I submitted it for competition. Today, when I opened Gamemaker and tried to revise, my player character started to become stuck in random places not connected to any object and the ground object's collision mask seemed to raise itself by several pixels (pixelated style) when I would go from a side room back to the hub room. The only room that is doing this thus far is the hub room after I exit into a different room and go back, and I am curious if there is a bug with the collision masks or sprite origins where they will switch themselves during the game. I have had problems previously with my player character's sprite origin returning itself to 0,0 when it should be 16,16 upon reopening Gamemaker Studio after saving and closing it, but I haven't had trouble with it switching during testing the game previously. What should I do/ how should I fix it? Thank you for your time!

Mick

There are some collision bugs in the recent runtime version(s) of GMS2. You should be able to continue working if you rollback to the runtime version 2.1.3.189 (in the preferences, see the image, version 2.1.4.202 is selected in the image though).

upload_2018-4-13_9-1-50.png

E

Evalina