• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM Problems with AI Object Animation and Collision

M

MagusMori

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to using Gamemaker and coding in general. More of an artist but I'm trying to learn how to make games and put my skills to use!

Anyway, I've been looking through a lot of posts and tutorial videos and managed to get myself a working player character in a pixel platformer style setting. But now I want to add an AI animal that wanders around but doesn't attack the player. I got the wandering working really well, but it isn't animated and doesn't collide when it is supposed to. All the examples I've found of tutorials don't seem to go into the animation of non-player walking objects. From what I have learned so far I tried to write some code for it based off my player characters animations and collisions, but it isn't working. Any help to understand the issue and get this working would be much appreciated!

tldr;
I'm working on adding in a 'friendly' animal AI that wanders around. The wandering part is working great, but I can't figure out how to add collisions and animation when he moves for some reason. Can anyone help me understand why it doesn't use the codes I wrote and how I could better write it to get it working?

Here is the 'create' event:
Code:
/// Initialize Gooy AI

image_speed = 0.08
hsp = 0;           
vsp = 0; 
grav = 0.2; 
movespeed = 1;

// wander ai
direction_choose=choose(0,180); //random direction
 rand_timer=random_range(room_speed,room_speed * 2); //random interval
 rand_dis=random_range(32,64); //random distance
 move_speed=0.5;
 destX=x;
 destY=y;
Here is the 'step' event:
Code:
/// Control Gooy AI