• Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

[possible bug?] unable to use audio_sound_gain with a variable

PixelLicker

Hello,

I am relatively new to using the audio functions of GM, but I found two issues that I am not sure are bugs or not.
1. I am setting a sound to a local var with:
GML:
currentBGM = audio_play_sound(snd_area00_wave_bgm_loop, 1, true);
Then I am trying to set the gain with:
Code:
audio_sound_gain(currentBGM, 1, 500);
I have checked the local var and it is being set to a value, but the code is not working. Is this a bug or am I simply not understanding how to store the index of that sound instance?

2. The docs for audio_sound_gain have a few formatting issues. The example there states:
Code:
if val
   {
   var snd = audio_play_sound(snd_fountain);
   audio_sound_gain(snd, 0, 0);
   audio_sound_gain(snd, 1, 5000);
   }
The indents seem off and the first line is missing all the parameters of that expression.

If anyone can clarify the issue with using the stored index, I would really appreciate it.

The manual seems to have a mistake in it, it's missing a couple arguments. I'm guessing that example doesn't even compile.

GML:
if val
   {
   var snd = audio_play_sound(snd_fountain, 1, false);
   audio_sound_gain(snd, 1, 5000);            //This will take 5 seconds to reach full volume, FIY
   }

Last edited:

kburkhart84

Firehammer Games
The manual seems to have a mistake in it, it's missing a couple arguments. I'm guessing that example doesn't even compile.

GML:
if val
   {
   var snd = audio_play_sound(snd_fountain, 1 false);
   audio_sound_gain(snd, 1, 5000);            //This will take 5 seconds to reach full volume, FIY
   }