Port forwarding with code?

S

Slothagami

I'm making my first multiplayer game and want to see if I can get the game to forward the port for you because most people don't even know what port forwarding is and just want to play a game.

Is this possible, and if so, how can I do it? (it doesn't have to be perfect, but I do want to keep it all in gamemaker if I can)

I have done some research and have not found anything useful, and I don't even know how to start it myself, like I said I'm new to networking, but open to learning!

Thinks in advance!

V

VictorLimaDev

Hi, I think that this is not possible, because port fowarding is managed by the router and the game engine can't deal with router configs. However you can use a technique called NAT Punch-trough this article here is very good: https://keithjohnston.wordpress.com/2014/02/17/nat-punch-through-for-multiplayer-games/, Will you game be published on Steam? because on steam you have the Steam Networking Library which allow players join multiplayers matches in your game without the need of port fowarding, hamachi, IP and stuff like that, is simply amazing, and there's a library in GM2 that implement steam networking on the engine: https://github.com/YellowAfterlife/steamworks.gml.

andev

What you are looking for is a technique called UDP holepunching / TCP holepunching, but it can be hit / miss sometimes depending on your router (see the wikipedia links). The idea is that two clients set up a socket (normally used to send and receive data from a port forwarded server), but instead send data to each other. If both parties simultaneously send data to each other, it creates a loophole and allows communication.

If you are using UDP, game maker will do this right out the box in vanilla GML. This code:
Code:
network_create_socket_ext(network_socket_udp, port);