GMS 2.3+ Player states on Slope collision problem

I come with (what I assume to be) a more complex problem than I have expertise with. This is a question regarding slope collisions and animations, and before I explain please bear these two things in mind :)
1. I am a newbie working largely with tutorial materials
2. This is not for a game project, it’s so I can learn how to read/understand GML better

So the problem at hand: I have emulated Spalding’s sloped collision system (bbox detection of tile edges, etc) and in a vacuum that works great. No problems there.
However if I employ any kind of animation or non-keyboard movement (such as a Roll type action) I run into a frustrating problem. Sometimes the animation will play to completion, sometimes it will halt dead after a short way, or even a few pixels. I can only assume this is tied to the collision system detecting the edge of a tile underneath and stopping…. About half the time. I can’t understand the rhyme of when it will/won’t bug the animation.

Attached is the room I’m working with (since uploading all the slope collision code would be a lot, and people probably already know it well):

room.png

Also the very simplified rolling / dashing I added to test this problem:

action.png

Frequently the movement/animation will cease early, even on a straight line. I have double checked the tiles being used (32x32) and tried both Spalding’s and my own to make sure.

For the sake of better learning, is anyone able to point out what’s causing the issue, and some possible areas I can research to fix it? I’m happy to put in the reading/work once I know where to start.

TheouAegis

If you are sure the collision code is right, check your sprites. Make sure your origins and bounding boxes are all correct. You can use the Draw End event to draw a rectangle over the bounding box to track it as well.