• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Player being pushed by a flying block

Klanes

Hello everyone, first, sorry for my English. I'm a complete coding noob, but I love to get in trouble creating some very very very basic games xD

In the game you must dodge some flying blocks. This blocks can push the player if he can't climb on top of them (or dodge them). Everything seems to be going well in the tests when the blocks don't move, but when they move the player ignores them or gets stuck in them.

Here is my code (sorry, i want try it in DnD mode).
(This code is in a script, ino a player setp event)

Here is a game preview with the problem.

Thanks in advance for the help, I thought that having well defined collisions flying blocks would not be a problem :(

Last edited:

NightFrost

I don't know DnD so no code, but here's the general idea: after the flying block has moved, it must check for collision with the player. If a collision is detected, it must run a while-loop that continues until there is no player collision. Inside the loop, the player must be moved one pixel to the direction the flying block is moving (take sign of its horizontal speed). Note that flying blocks must be far enough apart that this code does not push player into another block. If player must avoid getting pushed inside a block while being pushed out of another, the code becomes more complex.

Klanes