[Platformer Tutorial] Tile-Based Collisions At Smooth Subpixel Movement Speeds

yarrow

GM Version: 2.3+
Target Platform: ALL
Download: N/A
Links: N/A

Summary:
This tutorial will explain how to check collisions and move at whole number values while calculating movement at subpixel values, creating the illusion of fluid, subpixel movement without messing up collisions. It is intended for use in a low resolution 2D platformer, will only deal with horizontal movement, and assumes you already have a tile-based collision system in place.

Tutorial:
I had a heckuva time trying to figure out how to couple subpixel movement speeds with tile-based collisions and couldn't find a tutorial that directly addressed my problem, so I'm writing one myself! I'm fairly new to GameMaker and there may be other/better ways to do this, but this works (for me) and I wanted to share in case anyone else runs into the same problem. This system simulates what was going on under the hood in NES-era games, where onscreen movement occurred at pixel units but the subpixel position was stored and used for calculations.

Issue: I had a robust collision system in place (based on code from @Slyddar 's fantastic 2D platformer tutorial) which checks collisions and moves at whole number values, but I wanted to move at subpixel speeds. The game I'm working on is low resolution (240 x 180 pixels) and my minimum walk speed and acceleration values are fractional (both under one-tenth of a pixel), so the horizontal movement under this system was choppy and, indeed, didn't even register onscreen until over a dozen frames, since the one-pixel movement minimum hadn't been reached yet.