• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Platformer - First Project

D

Docker

I started learning to make games in gamemaker a few weeks ago and after completing a few of Shaun/Ben's tutorials I decided I wanted to make a 2d platformer.

My idea is to build the game around the premise that someone with void magic has taken over the world and the only way to defeat him is to collect the 'relics' of the four elements.

You start off as a human with a basic punch or sword ability and each 'relic' has its own power:
fire - fire wall that can block projectiles and enemies die/take damage if they touch it
earth - become rock allowing you to run through otherwise harmful objects and bulldoze through enemies sending them flying
water - send a freezing bolt that freezes the enemy
air - allow you to fly on a cloud of air

In order to face the final boss you have to complete all 4 areas, you can do it in any order and you will be able to select it using a map, the boss will have abilities that can be countered by the abilities gained for instance:
He sends projectiles in every direction with no space to dodge - you block with with fire wall
He turns the floor into a void portal - you levitate to avoid getting trapped
He has a powerful charge ability - You interrupt it by freezing him
He creates a force field - you penetrate it by turning into the rock type thing, basically the juggernaught

This is still a very rough concept that I've come up with and I've mainly focused on getting the fundamental mechanics in place.