• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Windows Placing Tiles in Rooms in GM:S 2

D

Dragon Ferocity

Okay, I'm not exactly a noob here, but I can't figure out how to place tiles in the room using code.
Now before you post anything, I'm not looking for how to do tile collisions here, just how to draw tiles in a room.
If any of my code snippets are wrong below, please tell me.

I've looked through the manual, and it just confuses me.

To start with, I'm creating a new layer, and then creating a new tilemap on that new layer
Code:
GROUND_LAYER = layer_create(-10, "Ground_Tiles");
GROUND_LAYER_TILES = layer_tilemap_create(GROUND_LAYER, 0, 0, tl_dirt, room_width, room_height);
Then, I'm wanting to draw multiple tiles in the room, and not place them by hand, because my levels need to be procedural generated.

Now here's where I get the info of the tilemap. At least i think that's what this code does? I'm really not sure what the point of this code is, but I saw it in the manual, so I figured I needed it.

Code:
var dirtLayer = layer_get_id("Ground_Tiles");
var dirtMap = layer_tilemap_get_id(dirtLayer);
var dirtData = tilemap_get(dirtMap, 0, 0); //What does this even do? What's the point of this function?
Now this next piece of code is where the tiles are supposed to be place on the map that is created globaly.
Code:
for (var i = 0; i < numRows; i++) {
  var numX = array_length_2d(xx, i);
  for (var k = 0; k < numX; k++) {