Physics objects and VSync and Speed

D

dukemc

Hi GM Community !

I'm new to GM and just trying some tutorial to learn gamemaker.
I actually looking about built-in physic engine.
I use VSYNC in my project, because i always personnaly like VSYNC in game...
I have two monitor, one 120hz and one other 60hz.

I see that the object are moving faster on the 120Hz monitor than on the 60hz monitor.
I understand this is because such as ROOM_SPEED is define by the VSYNC. (and so i have as much STEP EVENT as the refresh rate of the screen)

So for my NO-PHYSCIS objects i applied DELTA-TIME such as i readed in this forum. --> It's OK.

But for my PHYSICS object, i can't find how to make them have stable speed regarless of FPS speed ? (which i can't prejudge because it will be 30 fps on low spec PC or 240 fps on high end gaming set...)

Is it possible to use built-in Physics and VSYNC in the same project ?
Any idea on how get stable PHYSICS speed regardless of FPS ?

I readed some tips about "FrameSkipping" about to dissociate drawevent and stepevent, but i didn't think it can seriously resolve all case ?

Thanks !

D

dukemc

Thank you MusNik, i recently bought your Fixture Editor and it's a cool time saver tool ;)

About my problem, i tried both function.
at the beginning i was thinking it does nothing at all.
but with more tests i saw that physics_world_update_speed only apply on object create after it's call !

I mean :
- set World Update Speed to 300
- create an instance of an ObjectA with a local XFORCE of 1000
- set World Update Speed to 120
- create a second instance of the same ObjectA with the same local XFORCE of 1000

The second instance is moving faster than the first !
So it seem's to be great about to fix the physics speed according to the VSync FPS, but because it doesn't apply to existing instance it doesn't seem to be able to protect of "FPS drop" during the game (like Delta-time is able for non physics object).