• Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Discussion Photoshop image settings compatible with GameMaker

G

gamehunter123

Hello,

Background: My name is Will and I'm new to GameMaker and your community. I'm in the process of making a large game with many rooms. I'm pretty new to GameMaker, having only watched a few tutorials and started making a few rooms with backgrounds, sprites, sprite sheets. I've been using Photoshop to make all my image files, saving as a PNG file before importing into GameMaker.

Objective:
Want to be able to make large game, with many rooms and objects that will not be slowed down or otherwise suffer performance issues due to the image files imported from Photoshop but I would also like to use images that are higher resolution than pixel art.

Questions:
1. can I use Photoshop for all my image files to be used as backgrounds, objects, tile sets?
2. if I can use Photoshop, what are the settings I should use, regarding the following:
A. Resolution of file (pixels/inch: 72 or 300?) when creating new document.
B. Color mode (RGB vs. Bitmap) when creating new document.
C. Saved image file type (JPEG vs. PNG or other)
D. Any other recommendations you have in order to achieve objective (above).

Thanks to anyone who can help a newbie get started with GameMaker.

--Will

c023-DeV

1. yes, you can use any image editor that can save to compatible file formats (png, gif, jpg, bmp, tga ...) But you will have to re-import them every time you make a change to the images outside of gamemaker.