Graphics Opinions on 2D character animation

Hello everyone :)

I'm new to the GameMaker community and I always wanted to make my very own game, so I bought GM2 one month ago and I'm slowly learning while making a 2D horizontal scrolling game. My main inspiration gameplay wise is Abe's Odyssey, so the game will be oriented Action/Puzzle.

I'd like your opinion on my character sprite animation, not the actual sprite because it's only a puppet for now but the Walk & Run animation. I spent so much time figuring things out lately and now that I have something I can't see straight anymore :p

WalkCycle (normal speed)

RunCycle (slowed down)

InGame Preview: LINK

The guy is supposed to be some kind of humanoid.
I'm using Photoshop to draw (with a graphic tablet) and DragonBone to rig.
I'm open to all criticism/advices.

Thanks!

Last edited:
M

MishMash

Looks pretty good! The gait is good, however have a few suggestions:

For the Walk, i'd still make the torso bob around a little, perhaps a little forward rotation, not sure. Then for the run animation, again, i'd make the torso bob forward slightly on impact, then perhaps have the head bob a bit like it does in the walk animation. Looking at it in-game, it looks decent, but the leg swing back animation could also have the knee raised slightly (it looks slightly like he is skipping).

Don't get me wrong though, the animation looks really good! I think the rigidness in the legs (the push off) adds a bit of character, so i'd keep it like that as it fits in with the humanoid style.

hogwater

I like the walk, it's funny (that's a good thing). The run has some problems.

Think about creating a walk or run specific to your character. If we don't know anything about the character we can only really say "Yeah, that's a walk alright."

Rayek

Do yourself a favour, and get Richard Williams' The Animator's Survival Kit. Recipes for walks, runs, and all sort of animations that you can base your own animations on.