• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker Online Multiplayer Game Without A Server

ZeGGamer

Hey,

I'm trying to figure out how to add Online Multiplayer To my game. I already have a lot of content in it already, along with a second player character that works just fine with typical local multiplayer conventions. However, what I want to do is make it so that my game has a Host and Join feature that allows people to connect using their versions of the game and play together. Much like what Steam Games have where they just connect to each other.

I'm new to this process, so I don't know everything when it comes to servers and such, but I would like it if I could make the game work so that a dedicated server project or version of the game isn't required, only two players connecting to each others game. No separate server entity required. (Like the host has the guest join the game, and the guest sends and receives information from the host game. Preferably using the content I made already.)

I watched this video as a reference, but it doesn't have what I want. If there is anything I am missing, or If I'm just being an idiot, please let me know.

Also PS. I'm using GMS2 V2.2, Thought I'd include that because I'm not sure if that changes anything.

Yes, you can make it so one of the player is the server. Perfectly valid for some types of games, but forget about having any control at all over what's happening in the game if you go that road.

ZeGGamer

Yes, you can make it so one of the players is the server. Perfectly valid for some types of games, but forget about having any control at all over what's happening in the game if you go that road.