• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

oneway platforms that are also slopes

yashamatt

So I have been fiddling with this for a while now, trying to adapt my spaghetti code to allow oneway platforms that are also slopes.
I am quite new to coding in general but I do have slopes and oneway platforms working properly in my side-scrolling platformer,
however, my oneway platforms that are also slopes still tend to bug with either it not registering properly when being fallen upon
or walked onto by an object (falls through). I am using object-based collision (opposed to tile-based - mainly because I didn't know
about tile-based collision when I started the project, also there won't be too many active objects at any one time in my small game).

Any tips or ideas on how to approach the problem or even just helping my code be better here will be much appreciated! Below is
the current working mess code that I am using without oneway slopes implemented.
My code is mainly an amalgamation of my own crap with hints from zack bell's 2014 blog and whatever I could shovel up in the forums here.

par_solid and o_oneway_up are separate children of par_collision.

GML:
/**************************************************************
* player STEP event
* the state code is actually in a large switch statement with scripts for each
* state but i just copied out what i thought might be relavant
**************************************************************/

if state != player.falling
{
    var underblock = instance_place(x,y+1,o_oneway);
    if !place_meeting(x,y+1,par_solid)
    {
        if instance_exists(underblock)
        {
            if bbox_bottom > underblock.bbox_top
            {