Windows object shadow and collision shape changing - help needed

L

LeonelSaberTooth

hello, i am new to programming with game maker, and programming in general. currently im working on a small project that doesnt really have nothing in it but ive come to 2 problems.
1 - i want the player object i made to have 2 collision shapes changing whenever he switches his pose, the player sprite is a tiger, and when walking up or down it has a narrow sprite and when moving right or left a wide one, (see pictures below), i cant find a way to change it collision shape based on which sprite the object is currently using.

2 - since the object has a shadow (i made the shadow just a sprite and used the draw event to draw it, see pictures below), and the object is long or narrow based on its pose, the shadow needs to change to make sense, i did manage to makek the shadow sprite change if the player is moving on the x axis or y axis, but when the player stops moving the shadow disapears, so i need a way to make the shadow to stay as what it previously was when the player stops walking.
thank you very much for reading and helping :)

pic 1: player wide sprite, pic 2: player narrow sprite, pic 3: player shadow stops drawing when not moving, pic 4: shadow drawing code.

A

Ash Ketchum

Hey.
Im not great at code but...

If you have separate sprites for the collision masks.
You can write
Code:
If sprite_index = tigerleft_spr or tigerrite_spr
{
Mask_index = long
}
Else
Mask_index = thin
And maybe just have separate shadow sprites and change them accordingly.

L

LeonelSaberTooth

Hey.
Im not great at code but...

If you have separate sprites for the collision masks.
You can write
Code:
If sprite_index = tigerleft_spr or tigerrite_spr
{
Mask_index = long
}
Else
Mask_index = thin
And maybe just have separate shadow sprites and change them accordingly.
thanks! but how do i setup a mask index?