Object Activation Conundrum

quattj

I have a master game controller, it runs this script in the begin step.
GML:
function room_activate()
{
    instance_deactivate_region(view_left(), view_top(), view_width(), view_height(), false, true);
    instance_activate_object(obj_base_block);
    instance_deactivate_region(view_left()-80, view_top()-80, view_width()+160, view_height()+160, false, true);
    instance_activate_object(obj_tracker);
    instance_activate_object(obj_weapon);
    instance_activate_object(obj_weapon_onehit);
    instance_activate_region(view_left(), view_top(), view_width(), view_height(), true);
    instance_activate_object(obj_base_ctrl);
    instance_activate_object(obj_base_ship);
    instance_activate_object(obj_checkpoint);
    instance_activate_object(obj_player_continuespot);
    instance_activate_object(obj_deactivator);
}
It deactivates anything outside of the view, then reactivates all blocks (stage pieces), then deactivates what remains in an area 80 larger than the view in each direction so there is a buffer for anything that bleeds over the edges and is still active. This keeps all blocks around the play area "existing" when enemies and such are then reactivated in the view.

My problem comes when there are enemies above the top of the screen, but still in the active zone, but they shouldn't technically "be there" until the stage scrolls upwards a little more.

To try to solve this, I created a stand-alone deactivator, which has a check in its begin step, step, and end step for enemies at its location.
Code:
baddie = instance_place(x, y, obj_weapontarget);
if (baddie)
    instance_deactivate_object(baddie);