• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Not Sure if I should Stick With GM or not :(

B

Beep

I'm facing a bit of a crisis of confidence at the moment, and I'm not sure what the best option for me is.

For the past several months I've been working on a 'retro', pixel art, RPG, using a staggered isometric projection in GMS 1.4. This has been my first serious attempt at coding a game and my goal is to target mobile platforms, as well as Windows and Mac.

I'm really proud of what I've achieved so far, given that I'm a novice programmer... I've worked out the maths to implement the staggered isometric viewpoint and movement, I came up with my own tile based collision system, because I'm using Tiled to create the level data for the game I've created my own converter to take the enormous JSON exports from Tiled and turn them into my own heavily optimised binary files (that include all the object and collision data at sometimes less than 1% of the JSON filesize!), aiming to make the game more download friendly on mobile devices, I've got doors you can walk through, stairs you can go up and down, floors and roofs that hide and reveal themselves as and when, and all in all I think it's a pretty decent start for a noob.