Noob question about IF statement

Hey,

I am a noob and I am getting crazy because of simple "if" statment.

How come, below statement gets "true" more than once when I don't set global.playerdeath = 0 elsewhere?

If I put a counter inside of the brackets it continues to count even if global.playerdeath = 1. What am I doing wrong here?

if ((global.playerdeath = 0) and (global.playerhealth <= 0))
{
global.playerdeath = 1;
// Player explodes
}

I have also tried this:
if ((global.playerdeath == 0) && (global.playerhealth <= 0))
if (global.playerdeath == 0) and (global.playerhealth <= 0)

Any help on this is much appreciated! :)

Last edited:

Mert

The best and most appropriate way to do that is;
Code:
if (global.playerdeath==0 && global.playerhealth<=0)
{
global.playerdeath = 1;
//Do stuff
}
The above code will only be executed once and not anymore.

Notice : Although Game Maker tolerates the usage of "=" in such cases, you must never and NEVER use it like that, not in just Game Maker but in any programming/scripting language. If you want to check if something is equal to something, you must use double "=="

The best and most appropriate way to do that is;
Code:
if (global.playerdeath==0 && global.playerhealth<=0)
{
global.playerdeath = 1;
//Do stuff
}
The above code will only be executed once and not anymore.

Notice : Although Game Maker tolerates the usage of "=" in such cases, you must never and NEVER use it like that, not in just Game Maker but in any programming/scripting language. If you want to check if something is equal to something, you must use double "=="
Thank you for you feedback, Mert! Noted, but even "if (global.playerdeath==0 && global.playerhealth<=0)" the code continues to execute.
As a test, I added global.score += global.score... and dumped global.score and global.playerdeath onscreen to check their values. When global.playerhealth reaches 0 global.playerdeath turns 1 as expected, but global.score continues to count ... it is so very odd ...