Newbie here - how restricted will I be if I use drag and drop?

li_shuai

Hi, folks. I'm new to GMS2 and so far, I really loved it. Previously, I made a few prototypes with Unity and I found it to be incredibly difficult. So much so, I haven't touched game dev in a few years.

I just started with GMS2 and I really like the drag and drop method of "writing code." It feels really natural and I feel like it would take me 10 times as long to do the same thing with Unity.

Will I be restricted if I stick to drag and drop? Eventually, after making some small projects, I would like to have a commercial release. I don't want to go along with a project and then when I go to add a feature it's all "oops, you can't do that with your setup. You have to start all over."

For reference, I can code a bit - I've done web dev for about 5 years and I also write the occasional automation scripts (ruby and javascript), web scrappers, and whatnot. I understand control flow, conditional logic, object types, etc... but when it comes to game dev, I find it much more difficult to wrap my head around.

Ideally, I'd love to do most of my project in drag and drop and then jump into code if I have to make small modifications. Is this possible?

Also, I know, at least on reddit, there's a big stigma of "just learn to code, bro." I'm not interested in learning to progress my coding skills to get a job or get the maximum performance or something like that. I just want to create and actually release games.

Yal

šŸ§ *penguin noises*
GMC Elder
First of all, it's possible to convert a D&D project into a code project later and there's a "execute code" D&D action, so you won't paint yourself in a corner by starting out with D&D.